#DeepStuff

my first week at a new school

Hello readers! So you may have read my last post about starting a new school last week, and now I’ve finally come to give you guys an update (I know I was meant to do it at the end of last week – but hey, I was pretty busy). So first, I’m going to talk about The Big Day, i.e my first day.

I have to admit, prior to starting, I had kept a rather nonchalant attitude – sure, if anyone asked me how I felt, I said that I was nervous but excited and all that but there were so many other things that filled my mind that I hadn’t really thought about what I was actually doing. And I didn’t think about it after, either. Well, until 5 minutes before school started anyway – that was when the nerves started to kick in. Suddenly, I wanted to throw up even though 20 minutes or so ago I was rocking out to All Time Low in the car.

So anyway, once I got to the School Reception I was given two guides from my class (one of them I kinda knew from my old Guides group, but I don’t know if she recognised me or not!) and I was taken to my first class of the day: Biology. Now I pride my self on being a pretty good scientist – but unfortunately they were doing a completely different topic to what I had done at my old school (they were doing the Nervous System) so I was pretty confused. Anyway, it was kinda weird seeing all the familiar faces (i.e, the people that I had already stalked on Instagram – don’t pretend you don’t do it!) and the unfamiliar faces alike.

One of the biggest things that I found different from my old school was the rules – or rather, the lack of them. At my old school, there were certainly some rules that I found objectionable (like having to wear the ugly and ridiculously expensive school coat) but I honestly didn’t think there were that many. At my new school – it’s completely the opposite – and I’m not saying that the whole place is completely lawless, but they seem to trust you more, which is kind of refreshing. These are examples of rules that are different:

-we’re allowed to have our skirts whatever length (within reason, obviously)

-we’re allowed to eat lunch where we want, and bring in our own lunch (mostly because they’re rebuilding the canteen!)

-we’re allowed to have our phones on us, and use tablets/laptops for projects/research in lessons

There’s also a different timetable structure at this school, since they have vertical tutoring (basically tutor groups with people from Years 7-13 – not actually as bad as I thought it would be) and 6 50 minute long periods a day, whereas it used to be 8 35 minute periods.

The changes are different and refreshing, but they also make it way harder to fit in. All I want is to be comfortable and find my own group of friends – and I think I’m starting to, but it was really hard on the first day and it’s safe to say I shed a few tears and said ‘I want to go back to (my old school)’ a couple of times. But now that I’ve started my second week, I’ve noticed that I’m settling in more and I even know my way around (not gonna lie it is quite a small school, but I did know my way around after three days!) plus most people’s names.

But I’m pretty confident that in a couple of months it’ll feel like I been here for 3 years like everyone else (okay, probably not, but I’ll feel way more comfortable).

Anyway, now that I’ve told you about my first week, I’m going to share my top tips for starting a new school, for everyone out there who’s going through the same thing.

1. Be yourself

Haha – I know what you’re thinking – I’ve heard this one a thousand times. I know I have, because it’s good advice, but most people don’t get what it actually means. When you start a new school, you have the opportunity to be a new person – i.e different from the person you were at your old school. So when you start a new school, be the person you want to be, not the persona you were trapped in at your old school.

2. Don’t be shy/quiet/nervous

I know that some people are naturally shy/quiet/nervous – but when you start a new school, you are being taken out of your comfort zone – and so you have to rise to the occasion. Sure, it’s fine to be any of these once you settle in – but it’s also important to make an effort to talk to people and try to join in conversations. If you don’t, people might think that you’re always this quiet, even though you might be the craziest person ever with your friends. I’m not saying you have to be the ‘life of the party,’ but still try to make an effort here and there, especially on your first day.

3. Have fun!

I don’t know if you were expecting this tip, but I’m going to say it anyway! Having fun is really important when you start a new school, even though you may feel like you will never like the school and everything would be better if you were still at your old school. Honestly, I was at my old school for nearly three years – and don’t get me wrong, I loved it there – but after a while, it became a bit same-ish, like everyday was always the same. At a new school, you’re thrown into a new timetable, new classes, new friends, new everything – and in a way, it’s exciting to have something new everyday instead of what you’re used to.

And those are my tips! Thanks for reading, and good luck if you’re starting a new school sometime soon – remember to follow my top tips!

PS: Sorry for the random cover pic, it was the only decent one I could find!

Tolu

totally tolu

2 thoughts on “my first week at a new school

Leave a Reply

