#DeepStuff

new year, new me – totally tolu: 1 year on

It’s Tolu, returning from the abyss for the first time in 1236473 (well, more like 4, but still) months. Anyway, excusing my long and unexplained absence (going AWOL is one of my many talents), I have to mention that this is actually the one year anniversary, and what a year it has been (!)

If you’ve been here since the beginning, you’ve probably read the first blog I posted: New Year’s Resolutions. If you can’t be bothered to click the link, I’ll give you the rundown: I basically talked about the origin of New Year’s Resolutions, the definition of the word ‘resolution’ and why we should  make goals instead of resolutions.

Now, if I’m being honest here – I can’t even remember what resolutions I made last January 1st (to be fair, I can’t remember what I had for dinner last night either) – but I’m sure they were along the lines of be healthier, work hard(er) and achieve something. Most of the time when we’re retrospective about what we’ve done, we’re pretty pessimistic and critical – I didn’t do this, I didn’t do that. But what we forget to focus on is what we have achieved.

In 2015, I started actively pursuing a sport that I done for a long time by joining an athletics club – and along with that, I got fitter, had fun and made new friends. In 2015, I set up a blog – and although it hasn’t many posts or hits, the experience of writing my thoughts is so therapeutic not to mention relaxing – and every comment or like I have gotten brings me a little bit of happiness.

In 2015, I started the sequel to my first novel and watched as my reads, votes and comments on both books grew and grew – now my first book has 258k reads and the sequel has 4.1k reads. In 2015, I did possibly the scariest thing I’ve ever done in my entire life – I started a new school. And although the experience was terrifying, horrible and lonely at times – I’ve come out of it with new experiences and wonderful new friends.

Although the things you have achieved might seem small to others, never downplay the things you achieved last year. Maybe you didn’t complete all, or even any of the things you wanted to do last year – I, for one, can say that I identify with this. But don’t look upon 2015 as a failure – look at 2016 as an opportunity. An opportunity to take up painting. An opportunity to collect stamps. An opportunity to do anything you want to do.

This year, I didn’t even bother writing down ‘New Year’s Resolutions’ – which, I admit, I surprised myself with as usually I plan them out religiously. However, this year, I don’t think I could even fit the things I want to do on paper – instead, they fill my head like some sort of popcorn machine, popping and bubbling away. I imagine it’s like this for a lot of people – there’s just so much that they want to do – yet they don’t have the time. But the truth is, they do. And that time is 2016.

Tolu

totally tolu

Leave a Reply

