#RantingCorner

my worst pet peeves

Hello readers, it’s me again (duh).

Today I’m going to talk about pet peeves. What are pet peeves, you ask? ‘Something that a particular person finds especially annoying’, according to Google. And it’s safe to say, I have a lot of pet peeves. Now, I wouldn’t say that I’m a negative person who complains a lot whatsoever (cough cough) – but a lot of things (and people) just seem to irritate me on a molecular level. Anyway, I’d thought I’d share them with you guys so you can hate the world as well 🙂

In no particular order, BRING ON THE PET PEEVES!

#1 – Meat flavoured crisps

Roast chicken. Smoky bacon. Flame-grilled steak. I hate them all. Seriously, who thought meat and crisps was good a combination? (same with chocolate and orange, but that’s a different story) Like, I’m not a hardcore vegan or anything, but why would I want to think of cows being slaughtered while I’m enjoying a cheeky packet of Walkers? (FACT: WALKERS’ MEAT FLAVOURED CRISPS DO ACTUALLY CONTAIN MEAT)

#2 –  Insufficiently-detailed, poorly made/maintained websites

Come on people, it’s the 21st century. When I see a website with god-awful design from the 90s and a copyright date from about 3 years ago, I die a little inside. It honestly doesn’t take that much to update your website once in a while – and it goes a long way in the eyes of prospective customers. For example, would you rather purchase something from a slick, well-designed website or a barely functioning one that looks like it was designed by a toddler? #sorrynotsorry

#3 – When people don’t tell you the whole story

Don’t you hate it when someone piques your interest with an especially scandalous hook, draws you into the drama of a story – then abruptly stops and says ‘never mind’? I sure do. Like seriously, if you’re going to start a story: FINISH IT. Cliffhangers are only cool in movies and books.

#4 – Terrible grammar mistakes

*Whispers to myself* ‘I will not be a grammar nazi, I will not be a grammar nazi, I..’ Oh, I give up. Since I’m a virtuous and forgiving person, I can accept the odd slip of your/you’re in a tweet or Facebook status. But when I see pages after pages of painstaking grammar and spelling mistakes (cough Wattpad cough), it kills me. If you’re fortunate enough as to have an education, please USE it. This has been a public service announcement.

#5 – Offensive name-calling

You know what really upsets me? Name-calling. Not the typical ones thrown around the school playground – but vicious, targeted name-calling that serves no purpose other than to humiliate and dehumanise the victim. It’s super not cool, and it’s often because the bully themselves is self-conscious/is trying to project their feelings onto someone else. Whatever the reason, it’s still totally not acceptable.

#6 – Ignorant people

This one kind of links to the one above I guess (hmm, I wonder why???). In a weird sort of way, I sort of feel a great deal of pity towards ignorant people – they haven’t been fortunate enough to live in an environment where they are taught to be socially and personally aware, one of the greatest attributes in my opinion. Anyway, the thing that really annoys me about ignorant people is how they always seem to think that their view is right, especially whilst hiding behind the screen of a computer (funny, that one). I literally just want to scream ‘PLS EDUCATE URSELF’ in their ears with a massive megaphone. Or I just sing the song ‘Ignorance’ by Paramore to them (go check it out, it’s deffo a tune).

#7 – REALLY bad eyebrows

Maybe she’s born with it. Maybe she’s just terrible at doing makeup. Okay, so this one might seem a little harsh (I’m not exactly the epitome of perfectness myself) – but I have to draw the line somewhere. It’s okay not to be amazing at makeup – but it’s when people’s eyebrows are so obviously and painfully drawn on in completely the wrong colour that I want to scream ‘Why are you doing this to yourself?’ Come on people. Think of the children.

#8 – People who walk extremely slowly (especially DIRECTLY in front of you)

Okay, I must admit that I’m a particularly fast walker (I like to think of myself a power walker – like Kerry Washington in Scandal) – and others, unfortunately, are slow walkers. Now don’t get me wrong – it’s not the existence of slow walkers that annoys me. It’s simply their tendency to be walking right in front of me (especially when I’m trying to get somewhere) and take up the WHOLE pavement. Then you have to do that whole awkward ‘I’m just gonna overtake you’ palaver. Sometimes, I just cross to the other side of the street.

#9 – People who have their lock sounds/ keyboard clicks turned on

Two words: y tho?

#10 – People who say ‘like’ too much

Maybe we’re all guilty of this – but it’s definitely a problem if every word you speak is punctuated with the word ‘like’ (acceptance is the first step, dude). To be honest, you haven’t gone to school for 10+ plus years just to sound like an extra from TOWIE.

#11 – People who try to board the train before you get off

Hello, just who do you think you are? The Queen? Kim Kardashian? Barack Obama? THIS IS NOT HOW TRAIN ETIQUETTE WORKS, PEOPLE. Same applies to buses/trams/any other public transport.

#12 – People who have loud conversations in public

Wow, Janet had a baby? I can’t believe Roger’s having an affair! Dude, you can’t be late for that meeting. I’m sorry random strangers on the street, I literally DO NOT CARE about your lives. Not one little bit. Like, I just came to buy groceries, not hear your whole freaking life story.

#13 – White bread

Ever since I started eating seeded bread like a year and half ago, I’ve never been able to go back to white bread. Like, seriously. Once you’ve tasted Tesco Farmhouse Seeded Bread (which you can get 10% off using the discount code: TOTALLYTOLUSUCKS) with Bertolli Olive Oil Spread, you cannot go back. I may be a bread snob, but I’m proud of it.

#14 – Overprotective fangirls (and boys)

Okay, I get it – if you like a celebrity, you would obviously want to stick up for them. But it truly annoys me when celebrities do terrible, awful things like commit crimes, yet a horde of thirteen year-old girls still idolise them and tell anyone who contradicts them to ‘go die.’ Seriously, you don’t even know this person – they could be a total jerk for all you know. It’s fine to have celeb idols – but remember that they’re humans, too.

#15 – Cultural appropriation

If you’re on Instagram, Facebook, Twitter, Tumblr or any of the related social media, you’ve probably heard of a thing called cultural appropriation. By definition, it is: ‘the adoption or use of elements of one culture by members of another culture.’ What it comprises of is pretty vague in itself – but that hasn’t stopped famous celebs like Kylie Jenner being accused of it. Despite this, it always rattles me when I see popular, influential figures like ‘King Kylie’ herself wearing cornrows and ignorantly renaming them ‘boxer braids’ (like, for real? Smh x1000) – when growing up I have always felt ‘different’ for how my hair looks (although I obviously love my hair because it’s fabulous AF).

#16 – Shaming of any kind (fat, skinny, etc.)

I feel like the internet, as a community, can be a wonderful place – but it also houses people who have nothing better do than shame people for being themselves. Whether it be shaming people for their size, sexuality or beliefs – I believe that we should just accept what people are, and also accept ourselves. In my opinion, feeling the need to shame other people just shows how unhappy we are with ourselves…

#17 – Two-faced people

Ugh, two-faced people are the WORST. If you’ve never met a two-faced person in the flesh (in which case, you are extremely lucky), imagine Regina George from Mean Girls. You know the scene where she graciously compliments someone on their skirt – then as soon as they’re out of earshot, comments that it is the ‘ugliest effing skirt’ she’s ever seen. The thing about two-faced people is that they can be hard to spot – you could be friends with one and might not even realise until they stab you in the back (that escalated quickly lol).

#18 – Begs

If there was one virus that was somehow infecting all of this generation, it would have to be RBS (repeated begging syndrome). It’s hard to explain what exactly a beg is – I would probably define as a person who reeks of desperation and is constantly searching for validation/affection from other people. You know, the people who are constantly posting annoying Snapchat stories with messages like ‘Someone talk’ or ‘Feeling so upset right now’ with an insane amount of emojis. Or the person who’s constantly commenting adoring messages on every single person’s selfies, even people who they don’t know very well, just to gain popularity or to get in with people. Begs are so common that if you don’t know a beg – you probably are a beg yourself (again, the first step is acceptance). Of course, everyone knows the simple antidote/cure to a particularly annoying beg. Three words, or three letters. Dbi (or ‘don’t beg it.’). And like a nasty infection treated with penicillin, the beg is suddenly gone.

#19 – Romanticising mental illnesses

This is probably one of my strongest pet peeves, not going to lie. I really shouldn’t have to say this, but mental health and mental illnesses are SERIOUS issues. It’s not funny, or cute, or romantic to have depression, anxiety, anorexia or even more complex illness like schizophrenia. Mental illnesses are complex and sensitive issues which affect so many people and can be incredibly hard to talk about – so it annoys me so much when I see people on social media (yes, Tumblr, I’m talking to you) romanticise being mentally ILL. It’s definitely not romantic to have suicidal thoughts, worry endlessly about simple tasks like talking to people or going outside or hear voices/see things that aren’t there. Case closed.

#20 – Sponsored ads on social media

Okay, I know that an increasing number of social media stars don’t have real jobs outside of what they do on the internet (lucky them), but it really annoys me when ‘Instagram-famous’ models are constantly pushing obviously staged photos of teeth-whitening sets and hair vitamins, in between posting photos frolicking in a bikini on the beach. It’s like they’re constantly telling their followers: ‘You’re not good enough.’ Not only do you not have my body/money/life, you teeth aren’t white enough AND your hair isn’t as luscious as mine. Nowadays, we are constantly surrounded by advertising and almost subliminal messages from the media – it seems kind of outrageous that we’re bombarded with the same messages from people we look up to.

Whoo! I swear, that’s the longest blog post I’ve ever written (and I still have loads more in Notes on my phone, so expect a Part 2!) – it’s kind of ironic that it would be about my pet peeves. Anyway, I hope you enjoyed this post (I found it incredibly cathartic to write, ngl) – maybe you share some of my pet peeves as well? (Comment below if you do!)

See you later,

Tolu

totally tolu

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

